panorama software,virtual tour software
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-04-22
Send Msg:
Posts: 877
2009-03-03
#1

TW4 PRO viewer critique.......

I have been complaining about the viewer in TW4 as have others. I have just posted a new tour in the full browser version. http://tinyurl.com/c6bouf  Would love comments and critique on the viewer quality. I understand that over sharpening can cause the "twinkles" and "jumping lines" but I did not do ANY sharpening on any of the images. The images were all Tiff until the last stage of processing to avoid any over compression. The images were reduced in KissMyImage to 1MB each.
If you agree that the viewer is not up to the quality standards we require please leave a comment so maybe Easypano will fix the problem.
Nikon D300, D3s, Nikon 10.5 lens, RingT105N+Footplate+MrotatorTCPs, Giottos MT9261 Tripod, Manfrotto 410 Jr geared head.

If you know the "secret" then everyday is a good day!
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-01-30
Send Msg:
Posts: 200
2009-03-03
#2

Hi Jerry,

Looks good.  I personally don't think the sharpening has much to do with the "twinkles".  I think it has more to do with the viewer refresh rate, and maybe the users computer/processor.  You'll notice that the images look fine when the viewer rotation has stopped.  I follow roughly the same proccess with my images.  The TW 4 programmers just have to figure out some way to display Flash content in a more pleasing way - not being an expert on Flash programming, not sure how they are going to achieve this.

Rob


Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-10-04
Send Msg:
Posts: 111
2009-03-03
#3

Hi Jerry,

Great pictures.  The tour was really jerky on my computer. (Dual core 7500, Gforce 8600GT, 7200 rpm HD)  Also it had the "twinkles".  Another big problem is TW4 DOES NOT predownload the pictures.

As I have said since TW4 release I am sticking with TW3 until they fix 4.  I am starting to wonder if I will have to wait until TW5!! LOL

DaMan


Alternate Text
Joined: 2006-06-10
Send Msg:
Posts: 154
2009-03-03
#4
Nice tour Jerry - I think TW is getting a little better in terms of the flash viewer, but still leaves a lot to be desired.

I really like some of the new TW4 features such as making the viewer a percentage of the browser window - That will be handy for further development. I'm still using TW3 because at this point, it suits my needs and I don't see a good reason to upgrade.

I wanted to ask though, is there a way in TW4 to control scene descriptions and text after the tour is published? I don't see how it is possible. The configuration info is apparently in the .bin file which is encrypted. I know I recommended this capability when TW4 was in beta. It would be great to have the ability to control more of the tour parameters like the scene description, text boxes, scene order, etc. after the tour is published - I'm really interested in giving my real estate clients the ability to change change these things on their own and I'm sure I could build the functionality in to my current CMS if we could edit these things via a text or XML file.
Will Best
Virtual Impressions Inc.
Real Estate Virtual Tours and Floor Plans
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-04-22
Send Msg:
Posts: 877
2009-03-04
#5
Will, I don't think this is possible in any TW product. For myself I don't want the agent to have any control over my product. If they screw it up I am the one that is going to look bad. I use the information they provide and if they want to change it then $$$. I also like the features of TW4 but just can't deal with the viewer.
Thanks to all for the nice comments about the tour. But we still need more comments about the viewer if we expect to get quick action. Easypano is usually very good about fixing things but has been lacking in the viewer area.........
Nikon D300, D3s, Nikon 10.5 lens, RingT105N+Footplate+MrotatorTCPs, Giottos MT9261 Tripod, Manfrotto 410 Jr geared head.

If you know the "secret" then everyday is a good day!
Alternate Text
Joined: 2008-10-03
Send Msg:
Posts: 10
2009-03-04
#6
Jerry, isn't your problem a quality in the movie?
Movie (auto play) and walk-throughs are not fixed. (In not only full-screen but also normal viewer)
The corrected viewer quality can be confirmed by the play from the thumbnail.

They said, "Confirmed that the movie not fixed. "
Walk-through should change from that foolish algorithm.

masayuki
neocosmo
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-04-22
Send Msg:
Posts: 877
2009-03-05
#7
Sorry Masayuki, but I don't understand what you mean by "walk-throughs are not fixed" and "The corrected viewer quality can be confirmed by the play from the thumbnail". Also don't understand what you mean by "Walk-through should change from that foolish algorithm". Maybe it's just over my head. The fact still remains that the viewer quality is not up to the standards of the older viewers. Easypano has acknowledged as much and is working on the problem. But they said they hoped to have it fixed last December. But it's not fixed yet!
Nikon D300, D3s, Nikon 10.5 lens, RingT105N+Footplate+MrotatorTCPs, Giottos MT9261 Tripod, Manfrotto 410 Jr geared head.

If you know the "secret" then everyday is a good day!
Alternate Text
Joined: 2002-11-23
Send Msg:
Posts: 5435
2009-03-05
#8

Jerry,

What exactly is it you don't like about the current viewer?

Is it only when in autopan or all the time?

Regards, Smooth


Alternate Text
Joined: 2008-10-03
Send Msg:
Posts: 10
2009-03-06
#9
My English is an automatic translation. I am sorry for not understanding easily.
It is as Jerry says.
TW4 doesn't reach at the level that can still be used.

I said from the thumbnail because there was no Panorama rotation button of a normal screen. However, it was a mistake.


Please look at Jerry's sample in full-screen.
And, please compare the change pushing "right-button" and "Play-button".
"right" is fixed .
"play" is not fixed yet.

Walk-through quality is not fixed yet.
Everyone will be noticed if it sees with the high specification PC.

The algorithm of present walk-through is a setting at time.
If setting time is 10 seconds, it determines a course in first 5 seconds , and remainder 5 seconds become the zooming in.

The first behavior of 5 seconds changes at which position the button is pushed.
It does hardly do anything or becomes a rapid rotation.

The still picture is the same algorithm, too.
Therefore, the first 5 seconds remain always stopping.

It proposed twice that it be necessary to make it to the algorithm based on a set speed of rotation/zoom In.
There is no answer at all though it has said since the time of TW3.

masayuki
neocosmo
Alternate Text
Joined: 2007-01-30
Send Msg:
Posts: 200
2009-03-06
#10

Hi Jerry,

I noticed that you don't have a way to restart a scene in the normal screen.  There's a button on the Full Screen to get is moving again, but I can't find a button on the primary screen - The play button starts the "movie" from the beginning.  Otherwise everything looks good - other than the the viewer of course.

Just noticed that you can restart the scene by clicking on the tumbnail again.

Rob


Alternate Text
Joined: 2009-01-24
Send Msg:
Posts: 120
2009-03-06
#11
My desire is to provide a better viewer with TW4 in Flash. I've seen other flash player solutions for 360 fov which can achieve a much better quality then TW4 which I already paid for.